I’m Am Not Superwoman: Day 4 of 365…


I am not superwoman and I have no desire to be. I don’t know what it is that makes the world think that men are completely incapable of doing what women are automatically expected to do.

For some time I’ve noted that I could be busting my tail juggling children and housework and holding onto my sanity by a thread and the minute my husband pitches in everyone is jumping down my throat as if something is wrong with that.

I guess mothers have to be superhuman. We can’t get tired or stressed or frustrated or ever take a break. God forbid we demand our spouses share in parenthood cause everybody knows men are incapable. Weak. Breadwinners. Or whatever other bullshit they and all the old ladies around you use to guilt you, the woman, into taking full responsibility for all aspects of your family—especially if you’re a stay at home mom cause everybody knows you ain’t doin shit anyway, right? Just got your feet kicked up sipping mimosas and getting manis and pedis.

Or worse, you’re just sitting around wasting your life on your children. Everybody wants to know what you’re “gonna do with your life”, but nobody is volunteering to babysit. It’s so disrespectful and insensitive the things people do and say.

Well whatever. Good for mama or grandma or whoever sat at home alone twiddling their thumbs while daddy and grandaddy had the time of their lives making babies and leaving them to drive their wives insane.

I’m not superwoman and I have no desire to be. My children have two parents and I’ll be damnded if I’ll be the only one sweating over them and their well being. However that makes you feel, I really don’t care. I got feelings of my own to worry about these days.35mpcah

Leave a Reply

